Agenda About
Audio Video
3 November 2008

*Akiyama, Taxt, Lønning, Reinertsen *
series for
new live
and acoustic
music in
3 November 2008

Akiyama, Taxt, Lønning, Reinertsen

Having played two previous concerts at DNK, Tetuzi Akiyama returns to our stage with a young trio of Norwegian musicians. Akiyama is a key figure in the lineage of the guitar in improvised music. Together with Toshimaru Nakamura he founded the famous 'Off-Site' series of improvised music in Tokyo, a series that became one of the birth places of 'silent' electro-acoustic improvisation.

This group certainly owes much to that scene but possibly an equal amount to the Norwegian music scene from which we have come to expect very high aesthetic standards.

After concerts in Norway and Japan this quartet recorded their album Varianter av døde trær to much praise from reviewers.

The music takes in many styles, from pastoral contemporary music, through drone, folk, country and jazz, making a very beautiful and listenable journey along the way.

Tetuzi Akiyama - Guitar
Martin Taxt - Tuba
Eivind Lønning - Trumpet
Espen Reinertsen - Tenor saxophone and flute