Agenda About
Audio Video
4 May 2009

*Capillary Action *
series for
new live
and acoustic
music in
4 May 2009

Capillary Action

Jonathan Pfeffer - Vocals, Nylon-String Guitar, Musical Direction
Dan Sutherland - Drums, Percussion
Spencer Russell - Upright Bass, Vocals
Lauren Day - Accordion, Vocals
Sam Kulik - Trombone, Percussion, Vocals

DNK steps into new territory with some extremely smart, powerful and virtuosic NYC pop.

Capillary Action songs never sit still and do what you expect; they bend, stretch, fall apart and come back together, only to fall apart again. On three very different recordings (all released on the group's own Natural Selection label), composer/guitarist Jonathan Pfeffer has drawn upon a wide range of influences to create dense, catchy, and deeply personal compositions that mesmerize as much as they challenge. The New York-based band has toured relentlessly, playing over 300 shows across the U.S., Canada, and Europe alongside the reunited Shudder To Think, Joe Lally (Fugazi), Dos (Mike Watt and Kira Roessler), Daughters, Ruins, and 31Knots, among others. Capillary Action have also been featured in Pitchfork Media, Exclaim, Guitar World, Modern Drummer, the Wire, the Onion, the Stranger, and Time Out New York.